E-mail Print PDF

ST. GEORGE’S, GRENADA, 23 NOVEMBER, 2011_ Prime Minister Hon. Tillman Thomas has offered congratulations to his counterpart Prime Minister Denzil Douglas from St. Kitts/Nevis upon his appointment to Her Majesty’s Privy Council.

The following is the full text of the message.

“On behalf of the government and people of Grenada, I offer to you heartfelt congratulations on your appointment to Her Majesty’s Privy Council,

Your invaluable contribution to the development of your country, the OECS family and the wider CARICOM region has been exemplary. I therefore join the people of St. Kitts-Nevis in celebrating the recognition accorded to you by Her Majesty’s Privy Council.

I look forward to the deepening of relations between our island states, both bilaterally and through the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) in working for the enhancement of life for our people.”

With the appointment, the words “Right Honourable” is prefixed to the Prime Minister’s name.

Her Majesty’s Most Hon. Privy Council, usually known simply as the Privy Council, is a formal body of advisers to the Sovereign in the United Kingdom. Its membership is mostly made up of senior politicians who are (or have been) members of either the House of Commons or the House of Lords.

The Privy Council, the modern-day successor to the Privy Council of England, was formerly a powerful institution, but its policy decisions are now exclusively in the hands of one of its committees, the Cabinet.

The Council formally advises the Sovereign on the exercise of the Royal Prerogative, and together (as the Queen in Council) they issue executive instruments known as Orders in Council, which amongst other things are used to make Regulations.

The Council by itself also has a delegated authority to issue Orders of Council, which are mostly used to regulate certain public institutions. The Council also advises the Sovereign on the issuing of Royal Charters, which are used to grant special status to incorporated bodies, and city or borough status to local authorities.

Certain judicial functions are also performed by the Queen in Council, although in practice the actual work of hearing and deciding upon cases is carried out exclusively by the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council.

The Judicial Committee consists of senior judges appointed as Privy Counsellors: Justices of the Supreme Court of the United Kingdom, judges of the Court of Appeal of England and Wales, judges of the Court of Appeal in Northern Ireland, judges of the Inner House of the Court of Session (the supreme civil court in Scotland), and judges from various other Commonwealth member states.

Prime Ministers of some other Commonwealth countries which retain the Queen as their sovereign continue to be sworn as Privy Counsellors

The Sovereign may appoint anyone a Privy Counsellor, but in practice appointments are made only on the advice of the British Government, and generally consist only of senior members of parliament, the church and judiciary. There is no limit to the numbers sworn in as members.

As of August 2008 there are 538 members. However, the members have no right to attend all meetings of the Privy Council, and only some are summoned to each meeting.

Last Updated on Thursday, 24 November 2011 14:15